SHS AFJROTC Cadets Take Home Multiple Honors at Ohio Valley Leadership School (OVLS)

SHS Air Force Junior ROTC cadets take home multiple honors at Ohio Valley Leadership School (OVLS). OVLS is the culmination of a year in ROTC, where the cadets get to apply what they've learned in the previous year.

Springboro High School Junior Air Force ROTC cadets completed their annual summer leadership program, the Ohio Valley Leadership School in June. The program is a Junior ROTC-sponsored camp that occurs throughout the nation at various locations. In total, 34 rising sophomore-to-senior cadets from SHS participated in this six day leadership camp held at Wright State University and Wright-Patterson Air Force Base. OVLS was comprised of 10 schools and 155 cadets from Ohio, Kentucky, Illinois and Michigan.

Of the top 30 awards given out at OVLS, cadets from Springboro took home 11 of those awards. Paige Sullivan received the Vice Commander's Award as the #2 overall graduate out of 155. She also took home the Iron Woman Award as the top female for doing 77 push-ups in one minute and 70 sit-ups in one minute.

Elijah Barker finished as the #3 overall graduate and received the Top Freshman Award. Evan Majeski, was the #4 graduate and received the Top Squadron Commander Award. Lastly, Hannah Culp was named the Top Sophomore Award winner and finished as the #5 overall graduate.

SHS also took home the majority of Distinguished Graduate (DG) Awards. The DG Award is given to the top 10% of graduates among the entire camp. DGs included juniors – Tanner Cuttone and Morgan Corwin; sophomores – Ty Rinke, Madison Ruchel, Hannah Dwenger, and Mariena Passidomo.  
Print This Article
In accordance with State and Federal law, Springboro Community City Schools will provide reasonable accommodations to persons with disabilities who wish to attend and/or participate in school events. Such individuals should notify the Superintendent if they require a reasonable accommodation.

Springboro Schools

Engage. Prepare. Inspire. Challenge.

© 2019. All Rights Reserved.
School CMS Created by eSchoolView