Print    Close This Window
Governor DeWine Announces Safety and Security Support for Springboro Schools
Springboro Logo
Ohio Governor Mike DeWine announced on August 2, 2022 that Springboro Schools would be a part of the more than 1,000 K-12 schools across Ohio that will receive state assistance to pay for security upgrades that enhance the safety of students and staff.

“Being named to the Ohio K-12 School Safety Grant program is great news for our district,” said Scott Marshall, District Communication Coordinator. “We appreciate the support of Governor DeWine and the ability this grant allows us to continue our focus on school safety, security, and the mental health and wellness for our students and staff throughout all grade levels.”

While speaking at the Ohio School Safety Summit in Columbus, Governor DeWine announced that 1,183 schools in 81 counties will receive nearly $47 million in grant funding as part of his Ohio K-12 School Safety Grant Program. Grants equal the amount requested by each school up to $50,000. All six (6) schools in district: Clearcreek, Dennis, Five Points Elementary, Springboro Intermediate, Springboro Junior High, and Springboro High School are each set to receive $50,000 per building, which totals $300,000 for Springboro Schools. Funds will be used to cover expenses associated with physical security enhancements such as security cameras, public address systems, automatic door locks, visitor badging systems, and exterior lighting.

"With the start of the new school year quickly approaching, we want students, staff, and parents to know that we care about school safety, and we're working every day to make sure that rural, urban, and suburban schools alike have the safety and security resources they need," said Governor DeWine. “Helping schools pay for important security improvements is just one component of our comprehensive school safety approach that also supports the mental wellbeing of our kids and the work of local law enforcement to prevent crime."

Governor DeWine first launched the K-12 School Safety Grant Program in 2021 with an appropriation of $5 million in Senate Bill 310 of the 133rd General Assembly, which was awarded in May to 98 schools in 27 counties. This year, the Governor and legislature partnered to increase the grant program by an additional $100 million with support from the American Rescue Plan Act.