Springboro Schools
People First / Always Growing / Better Together

Springboro Community City School District News Article

SHS AFJROTC Cadets at Ohio Valley Leadership School (2024)


Springboro High School (SHS) Junior ROTC cadets recently completed their annual summer leadership camp, the Ohio Valley Leadership School (OVLS). The program is a Junior ROTC-sponsored camp that occurs throughout the nation at various locations.

In total, 23 Springboro cadets participated in this five day leadership camp held at Wright State University. OVLS was composed of 8 schools and 135 cadets from Ohio, Kentucky, Illinois and Michigan. The camp is geared to be mentally and physically challenging, as well as competitive. Further, each day was filled with the rigors of room inspections, uniform inspections, sports activities, drill practice, fitness, leadership, team building activities, and academics.

Of the top 16 awards at camp, SHS cadets took home 5 (five) awards. Paige Hamant, took home the Vice Commandant’s Award as the #2 camp graduate. Phoebe Hamant was named the Top Squadron Commander and #5 camp graduate. Raegan Holliday took home the Top Bay Chief Award. Miles McHone was named the Top AS-1 Cadet (first year cadet). Lastly, Ellie Seitz was named the Fleetfoot Female, posting the fastest one-mile run time of the entire camp among all females (7:27).

The following cadets also graduated as Distinguished Graduates (Top 15% of the camp): Jaxsen Bartling, Tori Galbraith, Kaden Pfennig, Lorelai Phillips, Hannah Planchon, and Evie Wrazen.  Other graduates include:  Emma Astudillo, Lilly Ballak, Nolan Bernard, Andrew Eadie, Jarian Gerena-Rodriguez, Jackson Hamant, Millie Large, Xavier Pherigo, Donovan Scherquist, Lucas Stringer, Nathan Szuch, and Gianna Zimmaro.

OVLS is the culmination of a year in JROTC where the cadets get to apply what they've learned from the previous year. 

Print This Article